A Detroit area native, Daniel Kahn attended the University of Michigan where he studied acting, directing, playwriting and poetry.

After finishing his studies he lived, played music, recorded, acted, directed plays and composed theatre music in New Orleans, Detroit, New York and Ann Arbor.

In summer 2005 Daniel moved to Berlin, and, within a very short space of time, became an integral part of the city’s folk and klezmer scene, playing in different groups and musical projects. As a corollary, he soon formed his own band, featuring a rotating roster of some of Berlin and New Yorks best young Klezmer and Balkan players.

"The Painted Bird" concocts a mixture of Klezmer, radical Yiddish song, political cabaret and punk folk, kept together by Kahn's amazing abilities both as a songwriter and a performer; telling stories of outrageous incidents, poetically dark, tragically humorous and politically incorrect.

"Dan Kahn is the hottest damn songwriter you've never heard of. Kahn is not only an amazing multi-instrumentalist/playwright/poet, he also typifies the youthful ethos that reminds us that music without heart is just a bunch of noise." Metro Times, Detroit


1. Beyze Vintn (Reisen/Kahn - Gelbart) 04:45
2. The Broken Tongue (Kahn/Alpert - Kahn) 03:47
3. Yesterday Is Buried (S’iz Nito Keyn Nekhtn) (trad./Kahn) 03:38
4. Nakht Un Regn (Leyb - Gelbart/Kahn) 02:25
5. Migrant Chorale (Kahn - Kahn/Symons) 06:02
6. Ballad Of The “Jew’s Whore” Marie Sanders (Brecht/Kahn - Eisler) 03:08
7. Birch Meadow / Birkenau (Daniel Kahn) 03:49
8. Unter Di Khurves Fun Poyln (Manger - Beresovsky) 05:10
9. Son Of Plenty (Daniel Kahn) 02:09
10. The Most Laementable Ballade of Edward The Young (Kahn – Kahn/Winograd) 08:46
11. Man Of Plenty (Kahn – trad./Kahn/Winograd) 02:54
12. The Silver Window (Daniel Kahn) 03:31

Total time: 50:07


Daniel Kahn: vocals, accordion, piano, guitars, ukulele, etc.
Johannes Paul Gräßer: violin
Michael Tuttle: double bass
Detlef Pegelow: drums, horns, mandolin, etc.
Bert Hildebrandt: clarinet

Brandon Seabrook:
lead electric guitar, banjo; Eric Rosenthal: drums
Niki Jacobs, Sabine Ostermann & Fabian Schnedler: vocals

Recorded winter to summer 2006, All-You-Can-Eat Studios, Berlin

Produced, Engineered & Mixed by Detlef Pegelow & Daniel Kahn

Mastered by Jens Schneider, Tonstudio, Berlin

© 2009 Oriente Musik

Release date September 30, 2009

copyright © 2016 - Webdesign u. -programmierung: Kalle Staymann