Contemporary traditions from Naples
Those who know more about him, whose memories still reverberate from the echoes of a certain Nuova Compagnia di Canto Popolare, the group which Roberto De Simone and a handful of young, enthusiastic musicians founded in 1967, will have been waiting for the first new album containing works of De Simone since 1978 with anticipation.

Those who don't know him yet have to venture on his compositions and contemporary, urbane arrangements of traditional music from Campania, the region whose capital, Naples, forms the central point of attraction and the most mysterious allegory; on the electrifying performance of his works by Media Aetas, a musical ensemble made up of actor-singers trained by De Simone and brilliant instrumentalists, equally at home with traditional music, classical or jazz; and on a composer, who categorically refuses to make any kind of concession which would blunt his performances or make his work more pleasant in favour of wider circulation by the media,
Now, what does it mean, these travelling Turks? Has the time now come, as the western arrogance of exploitation is forced to settle its account with the Orient, with the Islamic world, with Africa, which have been the victims of violence and egotistical and cynical market structures for centuries? Apart from that, hasn't the term Turchi / Turks always symbolised a different nature, an obscure fear of a mixed, irregular rhythm, an unfamiliar heart, which is unsettling for the hypocritical certainties of a Eurocentric culture?
Li Turchi viaggiano is an invitation to the dance of the spirits, conjuring up the Orient hidden deep within our hearts, a ritual that drives out the fears and stultification for all time, or at least for the time it lasts.


1. Soricillo (Text: trad./Musik: Roberto De Simone) 4:13
2. Fatte li fatte tuoie (trad./trad., arr. De Simone) 4:19
3. Si li ffemmene (trad./De Simone) 4:28
4. Li Turchi viaggiano (De Simone/De Simone) 10:30
5. Marinaresca (trad./De Simone) 4:21
6. Nun vedarraggio maie (trad./De Simone) - Ortolano (trad./trad., arr. De Simone) 7:50
7. Si te credisse (Giambattista Basile 1634/De Simone) 3:28
8. Tarantella di San Michele (trad./De Simone) 9:42
9. Alli quatt'ore (De Simone/De Simone) - Soi ciardine (trad./trad., arr. De Simone) 7:13
10. Janni dell'uorto - Tu pur te pienzi (trad./trad., arr. De Simone) 6:33
11. Italiella (trad./trad., arr. De Simone) 5:39
12. Ninna nanna per Taniello (De Simone) 03:48
Total Time: 72:04


Booklet in Italian, German, English, French. Special edition in carton box, Extra-Booklet with complete lyrics in Neapolitan, Italian, German, English, French
Produced by Media Aetas - Musica
Tracks 1, 3, 7, 8, 11: recorded at Studio "Media Aetas", Castelnuovo (AQ); sound engineer: Carlo Gentiletti.
Tracks 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12: recorded at "Studio 52", Naples; sound engineer: Paolo Rescigno.
Mixed and mastered in Castelnuovo by Carlo Gentiletti and Domenico Virgili.

Michele Bonè: Chitarra 1, 3, 7, 8, 11
Marina Bruno: Voce
Roberto Carbonara: Contrabbasso 1, 3, 7, 8, 11
Antonio Castaldo: Flauto
Raffaello Converso: Voce
Maurizio Chiantone: Contrabbasso 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12
Pasquale Di Nunzio: Sax alto, soprano, tenore
Gianluca Falasca: Violino 1, 3, 7, 8, 11
Leonardo Massa: Violoncello
Piero Massa: Viola 5
Gianluca Mirra: Percussioni 8
Salvatore Morisco: Violino 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12
Antonello Paliotti: Chitarre, percussioni 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 12
Giuseppe Parisi: Voce
Marco Sannini: Tromba, flicorno
Roberto Schiano: Trombone
Patrizia Spinosi: Voce
Mauro Squillante: Mandolino, calascione, mandoloncello
Virgilio Villani: Voce. Chitarra battente 8, 11
Artistic Director: Roberto De Simone
Musical director and co-arranger of 2, 12: Antonello Paliotti.
Release date: 19/10/2003

copyright © 2016 - Webdesign u. -programmierung: Kalle Staymann